Reading is taught through a variety of approaches in KS1 and KS2. As a school we follow the Literary Curriculum. This is a complete, thematic approach to the teaching of English, placing children’s literature at its core.

Children explore over ninety literary texts and experience at least seventy five unique, significant authors as they move through our two-year cycle.

In addition to this, Reading is taught discretely through whole class guided reading sessions. A two phase cycle is followed that allows children to develop a variety of reading skills through a range of fiction, non-fiction and multimedia text types. All curriculum objectives are covered through this cycle approach. 

Please see our guided reading cycles below.

Click here for the National Curriculum Expectations for Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.

Please find below the progression of skills across year groups for Reading.

Files to Download

Contact the school

Call and speak to either

Mrs Joyce Jones

on 0151 477 8270

Whiston Willis Community

Primary School, Milton Avenue

Prescot, L35 2XY

Our Twitter

View our latest tweets